Ingredient Roulette

So, I was feeling uninspired by recipes that I kept running across.  Scott prefers to have cookies because they are easier to take to work than other things, or so he says, so I find myself limiting my searches to cookies only.  And there are only so many things that you can do with the ingredients that he like to have in his cookies.  So, I’m faced with either making the same cookies over and over again, or starting to play with the ingredients that I have available.

This week’s recipe comes from a newly-discovered blog that I really must spend more time investigating: Pinch My Salt.  Original recipe is here:  http://pinchmysalt.com/oatmeal-coconut-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Here’s What You Need:

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups rolled oats
1 cup sweetened coconut flakes
12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

And Here’s What You Do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat together butter and sugars until fluffy in an electric mixer.  Add eggs and vanilla and beat well.  In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture and beat until well combined.  Stir in oats, coconut, and chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto baking sheets and bake for 10-12 minutes.  Cool for a few minutes on baking sheet then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. 

What I Did:

I started doing a little research on the effects of shortening vs. butter in cookie recipes, and I decided to go half and half with the butter and the shortening just to see what would happen.  And the butter that I did have was frozen.  Grrr…so, I left it on the counter to defrost and get soft.  In the meantime, I combined all of the dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking soda, etc) and tossed in the oats and coconut as well.  Now, I know I shouldn’t have, but I was trying to save time. And I was being lazy.

So, butter, shortening and sugar get all mixed and fluffy along with eggs and vanilla, and I toss in the dry ingredients, then the bag of mini chocolate chips (I think that I will use those from now on.  I love them so much!).  After a couple of seconds in the mixer, the batter was good to go. 

Scott bought this new stuff that I didn’t even know existed last week.  I was feeling icky last weekend, and not really paying attention to what he was putting in the basket.  Anyway, he got the niftiest stuff that was parchment paper on one side and tin foil on the other. I used it in baking, and I really loved it!

Anyway, I used my cookie scoop instead of a rounded teaspoons (cause you know I can’t resist the urge to use it as much as I possibly can), and I left them the way they fell.  And I don’t profess to be any type of expert when it comes to knowing how ingredients will react to each other chemically, but I think I’m starting to figure out a lot more about how they interact with each other.  And it’s pretty dang amazing!  And this from a girl who didn’t do well in high school chemistry!

To make a long story short, this was an incredible experiment.  I think this may be the first steps in creating a perfect cookie recipe!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

