Lightened Up Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars

I’m pretty sure that I have a problem this fall with my obsession with pumpkin.  I bought three cans of the puree last weekend, and I bought another two cans this weekend.  True, I’ve used two and a half cans so far, but I think this might quickly escalate into a problem.  A very tasty problem, but a problem nonetheless.

When this recipe appeared on my Pinterest board, I knew that I had to make it. Not only does it combine two of my favorite things (pumpkin and cream cheese), but it also allowed me to use angel food cake for the first time.  Not that I have an aversion to it, but I’ve never made one before!

I also found Greek cream cheese.  I knew that I would have to try it with this recipe!  It has much less fat and fewer calories than the non-Greek version, and I think it tastes better than the fat free cream cheese.

photo (3)

So, here’s the original recipe: http://cookiesandcups.com/lightened-up-pumpkin-cream-cheese-swirl-bars/#_a5y_p=861720

 

Here’s What You Need:

1 8oz package of cream cheese (non-fat, low-fat, or Greek)

¾ cups powdered sugar

1 Tbsp water

1 16 oz package angel food cake mix

1 15 oz can pumpkin

¾ cup water

½ tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

½ tsp Cinnamon

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees
  2. Mix together the cream cheese, powdered sugar and 1 Tbsp water until it is smooth and creamy; Set aside
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the dry cake mix, pumpkin, ¾ cup water, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice.  Mix until smooth.
  4. Spray a 9 X 13 pan with cooking spray, and then spread your pumpkin mixture into the pan.
  5. Drizzle the cream cheese onto the top of the pumpkin mixture, and then swirl the two together.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Cool completely, then cut into square

What I Did

So, the directions say to mix the cream cheese, sugar and water until it is smooth and creamy.  Smooth I got, but creamy never really happened.  It pretty much stayed the consistency of cream cheese frosting, when I needed it to be a little more yogurt-y.  Oh well, you make it work!  I also didn’t drizzly as much as stick it all into a plastic bag, cut off the tip and squirted it on like frosting. Still, it worked!

photo

Reaction

The people at work are eating up the pumpkin recipes!  We’re also in a very busy time right now, so snacks are always welcome.  One coworker stood in front of me while eating one of the bars.  I told him, “You really don’t have to feel bad about eating one!”, to which he replied, “I’ve eaten three.”  Ummm…ok.  I won’t stop you!  I had people come by, eat one, then sneak another back to their desk to enjoy in solitude.  Hey, whatever floats your boat!

photo (2)

I think these little babies were a big hit.

Until Next Time,

 

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

One thought on “Lightened Up Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars

Leave a Reply

