Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m normally not a fan of using premixed ingredients like cookie mixes and cake mixes, but I thought that I would give this a whirl.  I thought it a little strange to use yellow cake mix to make cookies, but hey!  I’ll try anything.

Here are the ingredients:

1 box yellow cake mix

1 ¼ cups crunchy peanut butter

¼ cup packed brown sugar

¼ cup butter, softened

2 eggs

1 bag (11.5 oz) milk chocolate chips (2 cups)

And here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees (or 325 degrees for dark cookie sheets).  In a large bowl, beat cake mix, peanut butter, brown sugar, butter, and eggs with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.
  2. On ungreased cookie sheets, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until edges are set (centers will be soft).  Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheets to cooling racks.

My comments:

Make sure your butter is soft!  I didn’t put it out long enough, and had to break it up so my poor hand mixer could handle it.  I have a stand mixer that would have made short work of that butter, but I didn’t feel like getting a lot of dishes dirty.  Yeah, I’m lazy like that sometimes.

The batter is drier than I am used to in cookie dough.  I think it’s the peanut butter…So I’m going to call it…This is basically a peanut butter cookie with chocolate chips in it.

I made them smaller than I normally make cookies, just to see if I could actually make the amount of cookies as stated on the recipe.  It stated that one recipe makes 4 dozen.  I made it to 40.  Pretty good, right?  Jesus, they’re some small cookies.  My normal cookies are about 2½” across.  These are about 1”.  Wee little munchkin cookies for leprechauns…

However, they came out really good!  The centers are just chewy enough, and somehow the chocolate chips are still melty, even two days later.

I made chocolate zucchini bread this week too by special request.  That batter I could eat with a spoon.  No lie.  Just me, the batter, and a big spoon.  This recipe I got from a bed and breakfast up in Vermont.  I’ve never been there, but my friends rave about this place, and it’s owners.  And the taste? Think of a fudgey banana bread.  But with zucchini.

Not sure I’ll post that recipe, though….just to be evil!!

Peace, love, and cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

