Cheesecake Brownies, or How I Learned Not to Leave the Oven

Chocolate is my crack.  I decided a long time ago that if I was going to eat something sweet, it should either be a cookie, ice cream, or something chocolate.  No hard candy, no skittles, nothing like that.  Chocolate.  I will never turn down a gift of that wonderful stuff!  Is there any greater Mecca than Cadbury Mini Eggs?  I don’t think so.   Yes, I think I could eat an entire bag in one sitting…

That’s probably why I love brownies so much.   Food Network Magazine did a chocolate issue a few months back that has a pull out with 50 different brownie recipes in it.  I guess what I am trying to say is, “Expect a lot of brownie recipes in the future.”  Cause, yeah…I’m kind of an addict.

Anyway, until they make a “Brownie-aholics Anonymous” I guess I’ll just have to bake to deal with my addiction.  Which is why I am kind of upset with how these turned out, even though we’re still eating them.

Here’s What you Need:

Fudgy Brownie Ingredients –

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1 stick butter

¾ cups light brown sugar

¾ cups sugar

4 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup flour

½ teaspoon salt

 

Cheesecake batter –

8 ounces cream cheese

½ cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

 

And Here’s What you Do:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Prepare a 9×13 pan by spraying with cooking spray or lining with foil, then spraying with cooking spray.

For the fudgy brownie part – Melt the chocolate chips and butter in a saucepan over low heat, stirring.

Once melted, take the pan off the heat.

Whisk in brown sugar and regular sugar. Cool slightly.

Whisk in one egg at a time, then the vanilla.

Stir in flour and salt.

Spread in the prepared pan

Meanwhile, in another part of the kitchen…

For the cheesecake part – Beat cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla together until creamy (it will have a few lumps in it).

Swirl into the brownie batter in the pan.  Bake for 55 minutes.

And here’s what I did:

I followed the directions to the letter.  I used my hand mixer on the cheesecake portion since hand mixing gets a little tough sometimes, especially in dealing with cream cheese that hasn’t completely softened yet.  Yeah, I am a glutton for punishment at times.

I brought the two batters together and “swirled” them as instructed, but I got a little over-zealous and nearly mixed them together in one section.  I was trying to get a good swirl going all the way through the batter…maybe next time.

So, into the oven it goes.  And here’s where stuff goes weird.

Now, the Fudgy brownie recipe calls for a baking time of 45 minutes, and the cheesecake brownies calls for a baking time of 55 minutes.  So, I set the timer for 45 minutes, because you normally always go for the shorter baking time.  At 25 minutes, the house was filled with this glorious smell of the happily baking brownies.  At 35 minutes, I poked my head into the oven to see how things were going, and was met with nearly too-brown brownies.  Immediately took them out of the oven with 10 minutes left on my timer.  What I thought was supposed to look like beautiful New York style cheese cake in parts had acquired a color that can only be described as chocolate milk.  I didn’t even take a picture of the whole pan.  Not very pretty…

Reaction:

The flavor of these is incredible!  It’s exactly what you would expect it to be – brownie and cheesecake.  They didn’t burn, just got a little browner than expected.  Scott said that the flavor was good, but he prefers to have a fudgier brownie.  Ok, that is another problem solved with a shorter bake time.  And an add in that Scott told me about that I just may have to try…

These will have to go in the “try again” category, unfortunately.  The flavor was too good for me to give up on the recipe entirely, and I know that the bake time just needs adjusting.  Maybe also a few ingredient adjustments, too.  Overall a win, but could be better.

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

