Vanilla Salted Peanut Cookies

Have I been doing a lot of bars and brownies lately?  Yep.  So, we’re back to cookies this week.  I wasn’t sure about these when I first found the recipe, but the recipe used ingredients that I already had, so I wasn’t going to question it too much.  Plus, the combination of what is used in the cookies was intriguing…

What You Need:

¾ cup Shortening

2 cups packed brown sugar

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup dry-roasted peanuts

½ cup raisins

½ cup flaked coconut

And Here’s What You Do:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl beat shortening on medium to high speed for 30 seconds.  Add brown sugar, baking soda and salt.  Beat until mixture is combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined.  Beat in flour.  Stir in oats.  Stir in peanuts, raisins, and coconut.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 7-9 minutes or until edges are light brown.  Let stand for 2 minutes on cookie sheet.  Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

Makes 60 cookies.  Yeah, right.

What I did:

I didn’t change anything about the recipe.  I like that this recipe uses oats (I’ve been doing that a lot lately.  Next week won’t be any different, be warned) because they add a certain chewiness to any recipe.  And really, who doesn’t love a chewy cookie, or anything for that matter?

The batter was very ‘wet’.  Of course, you say.  Batter is supposed to be wet!  Yes, and no.  This batter was runny.

However, that was before the addition of the nuts, the coconut, the raisins, and the oats.  So, if you end up making this, don’t be worried that the beginnings of your batter looks suspiciously like a smoothie.  I promise, it will bulk up like a meathead on steroids.

Speaking of nuts, I wouldn’t recommend using any other type of peanuts besides the dry-roasted.  Salted peanuts would cause the salt/sweet balance to be off, and cause your flavors not to mesh well.  You could probably omit the salt altogether if you can’t find dry-roasted and had to use salted peanuts.  And I would definitely use unsalted butter for this recipe.

And parchment paper.  Believe me, you won’t regret it.

I love how all recipes say “Drop by rounded teaspoonful”.  Really?  I think I know of one person who consistently makes cookies that small.  (Marie, you know who you are.  Your chocolate chip cookies are delightful!)  While I can maintain some resemblance of self control, I can’t seem to get the size of my cookies under control.

Plus, I’m not making them for me.  When I did make them as small as the recipe called for, Scott ended up eating twice as many at a time.  So, I make them slightly bigger than the recipe calls for.  I think I got 35 cookies out of this batch. Which brings me to…

Reaction

Two days after I made these, they were half gone.  While cooling, the aroma drifted upstairs and woke Scott up from his coma-like sleep.  I think he was halfway through his second cookie before he finally woke up enough to realize he was downstairs.   I gave some to my boss (who also has a notorious sweet tooth), and his eyes lit up like I’d given him a million dollars.

Scott’s already trying to get me to make more.  I told him that wasn’t the point.  I can’t make the same thing week after week!  How boring would that be?

Until next time,

Peace, love, and cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

