Apple Oatmeal Raisin Bread – Wholesome Breakfast in a Bread

Bread is such a great thing to make.  I think I feel the most satisfied when I have a golden loaf fresh out of the oven.  Unlike bread that uses yeast (like most sandwich bread), quick breads are much easier and faster to make.  No rising, no proofing, no kneading, punching, or making sure that your yeastie beasties don’t die.

I had a lot of apples that I needed to use, so I found a recipe for fruit bread that you can mix and match ingredients in.   The concept is the same as banana bread, just with apples.

What You Need:

1 cup shredded apple, squeezed dry

¾ cup rolled oats

½ cup raisins

1/2  cup sweetened coconut

1 ¼ cups flour

¾ cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

2 eggs

½ cup cooled melted butter or vegetable oil

½ cup plain yogurt or sour cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon citrus zest (optional)

 

And Here’s What You Do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly butter one 9×5 inch loaf pan.

Mix dry and wet ingredients separately, then mix together until just combined.  Spread in the pan and bake for 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Cool 30 minutes in the pan on a rack, then turn out onto the rack to cool completely.

What I Did:

I followed the recipe, but the batter seemed like it was a little bit dry.  Out came the sour cream for two more tablespoons! After that, the batter was a tiny bit wetter than I liked (cause you know me, I usually swing from one extreme to another when it comes to baking), and I was praying that everything would turn out ok.

After its stint in the oven, the loaf was lovely and spongey.

The really cool thing about this recipe is that you can mix and match your ingredients.   The cup of apples can be substituted for banana, zucchini, carrots, or pears and you can put in a mixture of anything you want – nuts, chocolate chips, oatmeal, dried fruit, etc.  Just don’t use more than 1 ¾ cup of the mix-in ingredients, and no more than ¾ cup of nuts.  I used oats, raisins, and coconut, but use your imagination to see what you can come up with!

Reaction:

Scott liked the bread, and it was a welcome snack at any time of the day.  The bread was pretty moist until the last slice was gone, so I guess that I’m glad that I added that extra sour cream.  I really like having this bread in the morning since it kinda tasted like a bowl of oatmeal in a bread.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

