Butterscotch Blondies

I love brownies so much that I thought that I would give blondies a try.  Eh, I wasn’t impressed with the results.

What You Need:

¾ cup butter (1 ½ sticks)

¾ cup packed light brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 ¾ cups butterscotch chips

1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

 

And Here’s What You Do:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 13x9x2 inch baking pan

Beat butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in large bowl until creamy.  Add eggs; beat well.  Stir together flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add in butter mixture, beating until well blended.  Stir in butterscotch chips and nuts, if desired.  Spread in prepared pan.

Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until top is golden brown and center is set.  Cool completely in pan on wire rack.  Cut into bars.  About 36 bars.

What I Did:

The batter for these looked a lot more like cookie batter than brownie batter.  Hmm…Of course, not ever having made blondies, I don’t have anything else to compare it to besides brownies.  So, to give it a little more moisture, I added two big spoonfuls of marshmallow fluff.

I changed it up a little by decreasing the amount of butterscotch chips and replacing it with chocolate chips.

 

Reaction:

I didn’t like these much.  I’m not sure if it was the butterscotch chips, or what it was.  Scott claimed that they were good, but it did take him longer to finish the batch than normal, so I don’t know if I completely believe him.  His boss at work loved them, so perhaps this will be a recipe that I pass on to her.  If anyone wishes to try this recipe, please feel free.  I don’t think that I will retain it.

Leave a Reply

