Peanut Butter Buttons

Peanut butter cookies are not my favorite, although they are tasty and I wouldn’t say no to one if it was staring me in the face.  But, up against the mighty chocolate chip master, or the chewy loveliness of oatmeal raisin, sadly the humble peanut butter cookie would be left in the dust.  I think I found a solution to that.

Behold, my first attempt at GLUTEN FREE BAKING!!! Or as I like to refer to it, “There ain’t no flour in them thar cookies.”

What You Need:

1 cup creamy or crunchy peanut butter

¾ cup packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

¼ tsp baking soda

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat all ingredients in a large bowl until fully incorporated.
  3. Drop level teaspoonfuls of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing them 1 ½ inches apart.  Bake until the cookies are puffed and starting to lightly brown on the edges, 8 to 10 minutes.  Let cool on the sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

What I did:

I have to admit, I thought it was a full cup of brown sugar in the recipe, until just now when I reread the recipe.  And that is what I used.  Yeah, for as much reading as I do, apparently I have problems reading recipes!

Anyway, I used crunchy peanut butter.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I used generic Walmart brand peanut butter, although my faith in humanity is seriously crushed after visiting there on a Saturday afternoon to get it.  Just don’t do it, people.  Save yourselves the mental anguish.

I was so in love with the way that these little cuties were turning out that I doubled the recipe and made more.  I’m a taster when it comes to baking.  I have an idea of what batters and dough should taste like at certain stages, and it helps me to make a metal checklist of what ingredients I have put in.  So, I taste as I mix.  This was some of the tastiest dough I have ever come across!  I know you’re all thinking, “Ummm, ewww!”  But when you’ve tasted as many batters and doughs as I have, they all start to taste alike.  And this was definitely one that I could not wait to get in the oven!

The dough was a tad bit on the ‘gooey’ side, with a hint of graininess from the brown sugar.  Not nearly as ‘dry’ as most cookie doughs.  I know, it sounds odd.  But, if you are familiar with making cookies, then you know what I mean.

Moving on, I did rounded teaspoons instead of level.  Sure, they were slightly bigger than the original, but I’m trying to keep a man happy, and no man likes to eat a cookie roughly the size of his thumbnail.  Great news is, the original version of this cookie is reported to have 33 calories per cookie.  I figure mine around 50-60 calories.  Still not bad for a cookie!

Reaction:

I made them two days ago.  Scott’s already gotten through half of them.  Dang men and their fast metabolisms…

Needless to say, they are very chewy and lovely.  Not terribly sweet, just the right amount.  And I really don’t mind that they are small.  It’s the perfect amount of cookie.

I’ll post pictures soon. Penelope, or iPen (my new iPhone) has a bit of an attitude and she’s being stupid right now.

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

