Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies or, Dear God, Why Change a Good Thing

Ahh, the humble chocolate chip cookie.  Probably everyone’s favorite go-to cookie.  Simple, delicious, easy to make.  Until this recipe, I would always use the recipe on the back of whatever brand of chocolate chips I had bought.  And, wouldn’t you know it, they are all pretty much the same.  So, when I came across this recipe in a Food Network magazine, I decided to give it a try.

I shouldn’t have messed with what I had perfected.

What You Need:

2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 ½ sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 ¾ cups packed dark brown sugar

¼ cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Sift the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda together into a large bowl.
  2. Beat the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in a bowl with a mixer on medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 4 minutes.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, then beat in the vanilla.  Reduce the mixer speed to low.  Add the flour mixture and beat until combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.  Press plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the dough and refrigerate at least 1 hour or preferably overnight.
  3. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart.  Bake until the cookies are golden around the edges but still soft in the middle, about 12 minutes.  Remove the cookies from the oven and let cool 10 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to racks to cool completely.  Makes 30 cookies…

And Here’s What Happened:

I’m actually not sure what happened.  The recipe calls for chilling the dough for at least an hour to make it nice and cold so it won’t spread out during baking.  That’s not what happened at all.  The uniform little dough balls spread out so much that when I pulled the sheets out of the oven, they looked like Frisbees.  I don’t think I’ve ever been so disappointed in a recipe.
Reaction:

So, the taste really isn’t bad, and they are quite chewy.  They just look like a train wreck.  So, instead of giving in to complete frustration, I decided to rename them.  Behold, Chewy Chocolate Chip Discs have arrived!  Or, Paula Deen Butter Discs!

Scott ate two right off the sheet before he handed down his verdict.  He said they were ‘ok’.  Of course, I’m interpreting this as man-speak for “I’ve had much better, and she’s made much better, but I’m afraid of having an emotional woman on my hands so I’ll stick with something safe to say.”  He also commented on how oily they were.  Granted, it uses more butter than I normally use in recipes, but I was trying something different.

Just don’t expect me to make them again.

And for those of you wondering, the banner at the top of this page is what my cookies normally look like.  Yes, those are a previous batch of chocolate chip cookies made by me.  Using a different recipe, of course.

One thought on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies or, Dear God, Why Change a Good Thing

  1. They scream, “put ice cream between two of me!” was down with Bailey’s and burn the recipe. You are blogging? When did this start, Betty!??

Leave a Reply

