White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies – By Request

I made a recipe of white chocolate macadamia nut cookies for Scott before I started this blog.  They are his favorite kind of cookie, and I believe that was the clincher when he was making up his mind to propose.  I wish I knew exactly what recipe that I used back then, because from what I remember, they turned out pretty darn near perfect.

But, this is about trying new things, right?

He’s been asking me to make these for a while, and I keep deflecting his request.  I thought it was about time that I made him some.  We didn’t have any white chocolate chips on hand, so off to the store, and I decided to follow the cookie recipe on the back of the package.  I used Hershey’s chips, and this is their recipe for “Perfect White Chocolate Chip Cookies”.

What you need:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup Hershey’s Cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

2 cups (12oz package) white chocolate chips

 

And here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until creamy.  Add eggs and vanilla; beat until light and fluffy.  Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt; gradually beat into butter mixture. Stir in white chips.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake 8 to 9 minutes. (Do not over bake.  Cookies will be soft.  They will puff while baking and flatten while cooling.) Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet onto wire rack. Cool completely. About 4 ½ dozen cookies.

What I did:

I omitted the cocoa and added 1 ½ cups of chopped macadamia nuts (pre-chopped.  I was feeling lazy, apparently).  I also doubled the recipe because Scott asked me to.  We now have nearly 10 dozen cookies that he has to eat before I bake next weekend.  I think we’ve given away almost 2 dozen already.

Now, after last week’s debacle, I was determined not to let them over bake this time.  I actually followed the instructions and put the dough on the sheets in rounded teaspoonfuls.   And I watched every cookie sheet like a hawk while I baked.  Yes, I was sitting on the floor of my kitchen at one point, watching them bake.  Yes, I realize that there is something wrong with me.

I didn’t grease the cookie sheets.  A sheet of parchment is a great replacement for baking spray!

Reaction:

As I was transferring some of the cookies to his treat container, Scott grabs a stack of about five cookies and starts munching away.  His excuse for eating so many?  “They’re small, so I have to eat more of them for it to count as one or two cookies.”  Sure, Honey.

They’re a little flat for my taste.  I was a little surprised by the amount of flour used in this recipe.  It definitely should have been more to make the cookies puffier.  My friend Cathy bakes a test cookie when she is making a batch, and I think that is a brilliant idea.  That way, I know exactly how it will turn out, and I can adjust ingredients accordingly.

At the end of the day, I don’t think that I will keep this recipe.  I’ve had cookies turn out better than this.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

