Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Cookies

This week’s recipe does not come from me.  It comes from Scott.  I’ve had a bad case of the flu, and had been out of commission for about a week when I finally got my appetite back.  And I wanted chocolate.  I think I mentioned it once.  Yeah, he’s so great about picking up on stuff like that…

Anyway, he comes back from the store yesterday morning with a load of baking supplies, and proceeds to try out a new recipe, all while I’m mashing my tush on the couch.

 

What You Need:

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)

3 cups rolled oats

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

1 cup shredded coconut

 

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the milk and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the sugar mixture until well blended. Stir in the oats, chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut until evenly distributed. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. (He used parchment)
  3. Bake 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven for a chewy cookie or 14 minutes for a firmer cookie.
  4. Cool for 1 minute on the cookie sheet and then remove to wire rack. Cool completely and then store in tightly sealed container.

 

What Scott did:

Since I wasn’t standing over him while he put everything together, I can only assume that he followed the instructions. I just checked.  He did.  However, I did see one thing – Instead of chopping the walnuts, he carefully broke them apart individually before dropping them into the mixing bowl.  Awwww…

Reaction:

This is another one of those cookies that is more like a meal.  As in, you don’t have to eat for a while (read that as the rest of the week) if you eat one.  I won’t tell you how many I ended up eating that first day.  I’m ashamed to admit it.  Hey, my appetite had come back.  And I was tired of mashed potatoes and oatmeal and soup and crackers.

I think that this is a keeper.  I would like to try it sometime, just to see how different they turn out.

Until next time,

Peace, love, and cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

