Chocolate Toffee Cookies – The Cookies That Got Me in Trouble

So, they didn’t really get me in trouble, although there was a conversation with one of my leaders at work where she expressed her frustration in reading this blog and never sampling anything.  Yes, you’re right.  I do need an unbiased opinion in my baking…

She is so getting cookies tomorrow.

What You Need:

1 (18.25 o)z package devil’s food cake mix

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

¾ cup coarsely chopped chocolate-covered toffee candy bars

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C)
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, oil, and eggs.  Beat with an electric mixer for 3 to 4 minutes until well blended.  With a spoon, stir in the chopped candy.
  3. Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart on to cookie sheets that have been coated with nonstick baking spray.  Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, or until the cookies are firm.  Remove the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

What I did:

 First of all, they DON’T MAKE CAKE MIXES IN 18.25 OZ SIZE!! At least I never found it.  So, I went with the largest that I could find, which was  16.5 oz.  I used slightly less oil since I didn’t have as much cake mix.  And you would think that two eggs and a little under  1/3 cup of oil would be enough.  Hmm…I didn’t use my electric mixer because I wasn’t sure that the cooked-brownie consistency of the dough would behave with my mixer, so I used a spoon and elbow grease.  And mixed.  And mixed.  And added slightly more oil.  And mixed more.  More oil, and mixed more.  I never got it past the consistency of play-dough.  I had fun cutting up the candy bar though…the chocolate knife was happy!

I also used the remaining bit of toffee baking bits that we had in the cupboard.   Yeah, for those lazy types who don’t want to haul out the chocolate knives, there’s a neatly packaged option waiting in the baking aisle…

 

I kept thinking to myself,” If these things turn out, it will be a miracle.”

So, on to the parchment-lined cookie sheet it goes!

And I sat on the floor and watched those puppies bake.  I was prepared to pull out a big molten glob of stuff.

 

Miracles really do happen!

Reaction:

These cookies are quite tasty!  I was afraid that they would be too oily after the dough got a nice sheen to it before baking.  I thought I had gone past the realm of trying to fix and stepped straight into the gates of lunacy baking while spooning out the batter.

They were lovely and fluffy whey I first took them out of the oven, but quickly fell into chocolatey discs of deliciousness.  They are nice and chewy too!

If I had made them just a wee bit smaller, I probably would have gotten 3 dozen out of the one batch.  I think I got 30-32.  That was yesterday.  We have 15 left today.  I think Scott likes them.

Sometimes, things really do work, even when you expect them to fail!

 

Until next time,

 

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

