Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars

Yet another experiment from Pinterest.  I swear that it gets more addicting as the days go by!!  I’ve heard that some people have troubles with recipes that they find there, but I find that this isn’t the case.  At least not so far…

Here’s What You Need:

1 (18.25) package plain yellow cake mix

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 cup creamy peanut butter
2 eggs
1 (12 oz) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
2 Tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup coconut (optional…my sister did not like the texture of it in there)

And Here’s What You Do:

1) Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
2) Combine cake mix, melted butter, peanut butter, and eggs in a large bowl using a mixer or spoon. Press this into a 9X13 pan reserving 1 1/2 cup of the mixture to crumble on top.
3) In a small pot, melt chocolate chips, sweetened condensed milk, and butter. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla and coconut.
4) Spread chocolate mixture over the mixture pressed in the pan and then crumble the 1 1/2 cups of reserved cake mixture on top evenly.
5) Bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool completely before cutting into bars.
What I Did:
Be proud, because I following the instructions to the letter!
Okay, I melted the chocolate in the microwave instead of in the small pot.  But, having had lots of experience melting chocolate, I feel that I can do it successfully in the microwave.  My best advice?  Low and slow.  Put the chips in a bowl and only put them in the microwave for 20 seconds at a time, stirring them after every time.  Once they get melty enough to still have some form, but are starting to be smooth, don’t put them back in the microwave.  Just keep stirring until they melt completely.
Anyway…
Reaction:
I think I should have baked them a little more.  They were a little…soft…when I cut them up.  The flavor is very good, and they definitely got the thumbs up from the bosses.
Until next time,
Peace, Love, and Cupcakes
Leave a Reply

