Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Scott had had enough of the ‘fancy’ cookies.  He requested something simple, “Like oatmeal raisin cookies”.

So, Oatmeal Raisin cookies he got.  Straight from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.  You know the one.  Your mom probably had one.  The cover looks like a red and white checkered tablecloth.

Yeah, that one…

What You Need:

3/4 cup butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking powder

¼ teaspoon baking soda

½ tsp ground cinnamon

¼ tsp ground cloves (optional)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 ¾ flour

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup raisins

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. In a large bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds.  Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and cloves.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of the bowl occasionally.  Beat in the eggs and vanilla until combined.  Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in the remaining flour.  Stir in the rolled oats.
  2. Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 10 – 12 minutes or till edges are golden.  Cool cookies on a wire rack.  Makes about 48.

What I Did:

I am so blessed to have both an electric mixer (one of those gadgets that you hold in your hand and let the beaters go round and round), and a stand mixer (so massive that it should be paying rent on the counter space it takes up).  Sometimes, I will use the hand mixer.  Mostly, I use the stand mixer, because, let’s face it, I’m lazy like that.  And about the only directions that I followed was to put the ingredients in the bowl in the order that they are listed on the recipe.

However, I did follow the directions when it came to the size of the cookies.  I dutifully took out my measuring teaspoon and measured out rounded teaspoons and dropped them on the parchment paper-lined (insert shameless plug for parchment paper here) cookie sheet for their trip to the warm, sunny beaches of my oven.  Yes, I turned on my oven light so that I could keep an eye on them.  No, I did not sit on the floor this time.

Reaction:

I think my idea of what size a cookie should be has been terribly skewed since childhood.  To me, a cookie should be at least 2-3 inches across before it can really be called a cookie.  No self-respecting cookie would even consider being fit for consumption if it did not reach these standards.  Alas, I find myself facing wee little cookies when I follow the directions.  So, instead of 48 cookies, we now have 64 to get through this week.

Image

But they’re little…so Scott will eat more of them in one sitting.

Man, they are freakin’ good.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

 

Leave a Reply

