White Chocolate Brownies

Sometimes, a recipe comes along that you don’t think will be anything special.  The ingredients look pretty straightforward, and you are just looking to try something easy.  But, then your mind and your imagination take over, and you find yourself with something pretty cool.

I think that this recipe was that for me.

What You Need:

125 g butter (about ½ cup)

250 g white chocolate chips (about 1 cup)

½ cup brown sugar, firmly packed

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 ¼ cups flour, sifted

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt the butter (you can use the microwave)
  3. Mix the white chocolate chips into the melted butter, and stir.  Heat in the microwave only if needed to melt chips completely.  Stir until smooth.  Cool slightly.
  4. Add brown sugar and eggs to the butter and chocolate mixture and mix thoroughly.
  5. Add flour and stir until mixed
  6. Divide the batter evenly in standard patty pans
  7. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until the brownies turn a golden brown along the edges.
  8. Remove from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

What I did:

Now, I’m not claiming to be any sort of baking genius.  Far from it, in fact.  I like to stick with the recipe because I blindly believe that it is a tried and true recipe that really doesn’t have any fallbacks.  Usually I’m right, sometimes I’m horribly wrong (see the ‘chewy chocolate chip cookie’ recipe from a few months back.  What a bitter disappointment that was!).  But every once in a while, pure brilliance strikes this old noodle of mine, and it normally results in fabulousness.

Anyway, Scott was feeling indecisive about what he wanted, so I made up his mind for him and just picked something.  I believe that this recipe originates overseas because they make a reference to making these in patty pans.  Yep, I had to look that one up.  Turns out they are slightly smaller than a cupcake or a muffin tin, and it was a common utensil in the UK.  So, that gave me an idea.  Instead of making them in the normal 9X13 pan, I lined two muffin tins with paper liners, and made cute ruffle-edged brownies!

Like I said, sometimes I’m a genius.

Reaction:

Scott really like these.  People at his work really like these.  I found myself packing up more than one baggy for him to take to work so he wouldn’t have to give away the brownies meant for him.

I don’t want to call them blondies because the one time I made blondies, they tasted funny to me.  So, we will stick with white chocolate brownies for now, unless someone comes up with a better name.
Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

