Yin/Yang Cookies

Who came up with the phrase “A day late and a dollar short”?  I don’t know…but I’m a day late with this post!  And I have no excuse other than my own extreme laziness!  But this week my friends, is NOT a dollar short!  In fact, this could be the best cookie that I have made to date.

Yes, I know that I say that about a lot of these, but this one was backed up. Okay, it was backed up by Scott, who’s a little partial to all the baking that he’s gotten to enjoy over the last six months, but he will give me honest opinions about what I bake.  And this one…this one was a doozy…

He’d finished all of the cookies in three days.  If that doesn’t say something about these little beauties, I don’t know what does.

Anyway, I call them Yin/Yang because of the white and chocolate chips that I used (and Black and White Cookie is the name of a cookie that doesn’t even come close to these).  And I’ve already name one of Scott’s cookie creations “Kitchen Sink” cookies, so I had to go with something.  If you come up with a better name, please let me know!

Original recipe is found here:   http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/10/peanut-butter-oatmeal-white-chocolate-cookies.html

 

What You Need:

1/2 cup butter

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg + 1 yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup old fashioned whole oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 c white chocolate chips

1/2 c peanut butter chips

 

And Here’s What You Do:

In a medium-sized microwave safe bowl, melt the butter and peanut butter together.  I put them in the microwave for about 20 seconds, then stirred until both had melted together. I didn’t put it back in the microwave.

Add the sugars to the melted butter & peanut butter mixture and stir.  Set this is the freezer or refrigerator, or allow to come to room temperature on it’s own.  Once cooled, add the egg and yolk and the vanilla extract and stir.

Then add the flour, oats, baking soda and stir.

Finally, add the white chocolate chips and peanut butter chips and stir.

Roll or spoon out golf ball sized balls onto a cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.

Bake at 325F for approximately 10-12 minutes.

Yields: 22 to 24 cookies

 

What I did:

I followed the instructions, but threw in about 3/4 cup of the mini chocolate chips in place of the peanut butter chips (I had them from last week’s cupcakes and they needed to be used).  Yes, these cookies have a lot of stuff in them.  But I wanted to see how they would fare with the semi-sweet chocolate as well.  Plus, these were more my own curiosity getting to me.  And I already had all of the ingredients.  And I was on a baking streak for last week’s bake sale.  And I really thought that I was going to need a 12 step program to get me out of that kick.  Don’t worry, I’m better now…

Anyway, I opted to bake the cookies right under 10 minutes, just to see how much of a difference it would make…And wow was it heavenly!!

Reaction:

The bottoms were just brown enough to maintain the chewy consistency without making the cookies crumbly and crispy (I rather dislike crispy cookies.  Bleh!)

Scott ate about five right off the sheet.  Between muffled bites, I heard “These are the best so far”…followed by the sound of his chewing and shuffling off with his stash of precious cookies.  I think he liked them because it was a combination of all of his favorite things about baking – peanut butter, chocolate, white chocolate, etc.

At the end of the day, I have to say that these were some of the best that I’ve made in this little journey of mine.  They weren’t overly peanut-buttery, not overly oat-y, not overly chocolate chip-ish.  However, they were a pretty darn near perfect combination of all of the above.

If you never make anything else that I’ve put up on here, make sure that you try these!  You won’t be disappointed!!

 

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

