New Year…Nutella!

I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions.  Statistically speaking, they are always broken by January 10th, anyway.  But, that doesn’t mean that I don’t think on what steps I can take to improve on things in my life.  I really want to cook more this year, at least to weed through all of the recipes that I have been faithfully ripping out of every food magazine that I can lay my hands on without actually having a subscription.  Actually, this is more like my goal every week, and I spend my weeknights plotting out what I want to make on the weekends..and then the weekend comes, and I’m too dog tired to want to do any of it.  Alas, the best laid plans of mice and men…

Anyway, I’m back to trolling Pinterest for recipes, and I found this one (twice, actually), and I wanted to use up that most evil of toast spreads that we had in our cupboard from Scott’s cheesecake experiment – Nutella.

Now, I have known about Nutella for a very long time.  I remember us having it at my mom’s house before I moved to Florida in 2002.  It seems that it has reached a bit of a media frenzy in the last few years, with people suing over the company’s claim that it is a healthy breakfast item (which really makes me weep for society.  It’s a CHOCOLATE SPREAD, PEOPLE!!! Since when was chocolate considered a diet food?) and me going saucer-eyed over the first commercial I saw for it.  I do have to say that I love this stuff.  Long ago, I decided that if I was going to waste calories on something sweet, it was going to be chocolate.  No Skittles, hard candy, or Laffy Taffy for me, thank you.  Give me M & M’s any day.  So, when I was first introduced to it, I thought it was a complete miracle, and obviously thought up by those genius confectioners in Europe.  Of course it was!  Leave it to Italy to come up with something delectably evil.

Of course, I should stop a minute and say that by definition, Nutella is catagorized as a “hazelnut” spread with chocolate, and not the other way around.  It doesn’t contain enough cocoa for it to be sold as a chocolate spread.  But that is what everyone refers to it as.

Okay, enough splitting hairs (can you tell I’ve been watching too much Big Bang Theory lately?).  On to the recipe!

What You Need:

1 cup Nutella

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1 egg

And Here’s What You Do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together.  Shape into 1″ balls and place on greased (or parchment lined) cookie sheet.  Flatten firmly with the bottom of a glass.  Bake for 7-9 minutes, or until set.

What I Did:

Of course, I had to double the recipe when the original said that it only made 20.  Um, no.  I have a man with a voracious sweet tooth that needs to get through overnight shifts at work.  I’m not going to do it on 20 cookies.  I used my hand mixer, as I didn’t feel like dirtying everything on my stand mixer.  I’m slowly regaining control of the kitchen after it was being taken over with holiday baking and meal prep…I don’t want to move backwards in the process.

So, mix mix mix…and there formed in the bowl what appeared to be dirt.  Very aerated dirt, mind you, but dirt nonetheless.  So, I dutifully formed the little dough balls and lined them up for their trip to the oven.  Oh!  And thanks to Scott, I am now the owner of two restaurant-sized cookie sheets!  This brings the cookie sheet population in our house to six!  SIX!  I am unstoppable!  Plus, I can fit 20 cookies at a time on the bigger cookie sheets!  Gah!  The mind boggles…

Anyway, I flattened them with the bottom of the glass, and they started to fall apart a little.  Some more than others, but together for the most part.  They made it through the oven fine, and once baked, they did fine on the cooling rack.  I had to give into temptation and try just one of the little ones, and was met by hazelnutty goodness, followed by smack-you-across-the-face sweetness.  Kind of a far departure from what I’ve been making lately.  I was a little un-nerved by the dryness of the batter, but I’d been down the road of dry batter turning out fine, so I let it go.

Reaction:

Scott said they were “good”.  I can take that.  I would love to try this recipe again (because, let’s face it, I need another reason to buy the big jar of Nutella), but next time I want to leave out the sugar.  I really believe that the cookie is sweet enough without it, and I think that the extra dry ingredient contributed to the dry nature of the batter.

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

On a more personal note, please take the time to love and cherish the people around you.  It has been a very sad holiday season for quite a few people that I know.  Too many loved ones have been lost in the past month, so please take the time and be thankful for the people that fill your life.

Leave a Reply

