Strawberry Yogurt Cake

Scott has been boring in his treat choices lately.  He really just wants cookies to take to work, but I keep running across all of these crazy-good-looking recipes that I am itching to try.  So, this week, I made him cookies (white chocolate macadamia nut, may post that later), and I made a fresh strawberry and yogurt cake for my coworkers. 

Late January and February is strawberry season in central Florida.  There’s even a strawberry festival that celebrates them. (It’s pretty cool.  Lots of food with strawberries.  All of it delicious.)  So, we have them in great abundance and for pretty good prices in local grocery stores.  I found a recipe for oven baked strawberries on Pinterest (damn you, Pinterest) that I can’t wait to try. 

Anyway, I knew that I had to make this as soon as I saw it…and the results were amazing!

Original recipe found here: http://www.food.com/recipe/fresh-strawberry-yogurt-cake-426872

What you Need:

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
3 tablespoons lemon juice, divided
1 lemon, zested
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, divided
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 ounces plain Greek yogurt or 8 ounces vanilla, greek yogurt
12 ounces fresh strawberries, diced
1 cup powdered sugar
 

And Here’s What You Do:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a standard Bundt pan.  Sift together 2 1/4 cups of flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix in the lemon zest.

2. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time, and then 1 Tbsp of lemon juice.  Alternate adding the yogurt and the flour mixture, mixing until all incredients just until incorporated.

3. Add in the strawberries with the remaining 1/4 cup of flour.  Using a rubber spatula, gently mix the strawberries into the rest of the batter.

4. Add the batter into the Bundt pan.  Bake in a preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the cake comes out clean. (I baked for about 65 minutes)

5. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cook completely.  Once the cake is cooled, whisk together the remaining 2Tbsp of lemon juice and the powdered sugar. Drizzle over the top of the cake.

What I Did

I followed the recipe (I know, shocking for me as of late).  I’m not a cake maker, so I am unsure as to where I have wiggle room in those recipes.

I did not glaze the top, as my cake was a little broken when it came out of the pan.

Image

I promise that I followed the recipe and following the instructions!  I don’t know why it broke!

Reaction

Scott has been under the weather this week, so I’ve been kicking around in the kitchen while he sleeps as much as he can before trundling off to work.  The night I made this, I woke him up and asked him if he wanted a piece.  I got a muffled “No, thank you.  I have cookies.”, and assumed that he wouldn’t touch it. 

I was wrong.

After sending him off to work, I returned to the kitchen to find that we’d been robbed!  But the thief only took a large hunk of the cake.  So, I think he looked at it and couldn’t resist…Anyway, I sliced up the rest and let my coworkers have a go.  At one point, one of them was hunched over while eating it, emulating Golum petting his Precious.  I swear I almost saw tears come out of his eyes.

I think I will make this one again. 

Leave a Reply

