That’s Mrs. Peanut Butter Cookie To You…

So, it’s been a while.  But, Scott and I got married!  Here, a photo!

photo(6)

Anyway, I’ve been neglecting the baking as of late.  The steam kinda got knocked out of me due to crazy wedding stuff and family and friends and Lent.  Yes, Lent.  So many people at work have given up sweets, it’s not even funny.  I’ve got a list of things that I want to make as soon as Easter arrives!  Jen, if you are reading this, your loaf of chocolate zucchini bread will be on your desk on Monday, April 1st.  I hope.

So, cookies are back in a big way.  Scott’s request this week was plain peanut butter cookies (of course it was), so I obliged and made him the good old fashioned fork tine-marked cookies.

Here’s What You Need

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

Granulated sugar

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. In a large mixing bowl beat the butter and peanut butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds.  Add the granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, and baking powder.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in the egg and vanilla until combined.  Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer.  Stir in remaining flour.  If necessary, cover and chill dough until easy to handle.
  2. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in additional granulated sugar to coat.  Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Flatten by making crisscross marks with the tines of a fork.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 7 to 9 minutes or till bottoms are lightly browned.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool.  Makes about 36 cookies.

What I Did

I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour in these babies.  It gives the cookies a lovely nutty-ness.  I really don’t miss the white flour, and I’ve been experimenting with using have white and half wheat for a few recipes, and I’ve not noticed a difference.

I didn’t chill the dough.  Sure, maybe I was taking a risk by not following a step, but I was feeling risky.  And it was holding up just fine.

I also doubled the recipe, but I found that it made 4 dozen.  I’m sure that I made them much bigger than the recipe calls for

One of the coolest things we received as a wedding gift was this mixer attachment that scrapes the sides of the bowl. Here’s a pic:

photo(7)

I’ve died and gone to heaven.  I shouldn’t get this excited over kitchen appliances, but I do.  And no, I didn’t scrape the sides like it says in the directions.  The beater did it for me!  So luxurious…

photo(8)

Reaction

They smelled lovely while baking, and they glistened enticingly while still hot from the oven.  I caught Scotty casually munching on one with his back to me, stopping in alarm when I walked up behind him.  Not sure why he feels like he has to hide his cookie eating from me…

photo(9)

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

