Chewy Granola Bites

I’m trying to get on the healthier bandwagon, going back to the gym, making better food choices, etc.  Getting up at 5 am can really suck, so I try to be dressed and in the car before my brain can figure out what is really going on.  Thank God there isn’t a lot of traffic at that time of the morning.   

As I muddle my way through what is the best course of action when it comes to food before hitting the gym, I discovered that I should probably eat a little something before I go, just so my energy will last a little longer.  Turns out, trolling Pinterest for inspirations really helps, especially when you are trying to find great recipes.  Of course it is.  I have found a lot of recipes for little bites like these, but settled on this one, since it seems to be one of the only recipes that uses ingredients that can be found at any grocery store (there is only one Whole Foods in Orlando, and I don’t live near it).

Original Recipe found here: http://greatist.com/health/recipe-greatist-energy-bites

 

What You Need:

4 cups rolled oats

1 ½ cups raw sunflower seeds

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 cup banana chips, crumbled

½ cup dried blueberries

1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup peanut butter

½ cup agave nectar

 

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Combine all ingredients and stir until well combined (I use my hands because spoons just don’t work)
  2. Refrigerate mixture for about 20 minutes or until firm
  3. Roll mixture into teaspoon sized balls (I use my cookie scoop)
  4. Store in the refrigerator in a air-tight container.

 

Reaction:

 I love granola and crunchies in yogurt, and was really happy to find this recipe.  I used the mini chocolate chips, which should come as no surprise to anyone.  I think they fit better with this recipe rather than the regular size. 

 The day after I made them, Scott mentioned that he liked the “little chewy things in the fridge”, and soon wanted them packed in his lunch.  Ummm, okay… my meat-and-potatoes-eating husband actually likes to eat something that is halfway to healthy?  I’ll take that as a good sign!

Image

 I’ve already made a second batch at his request!  I know that I will make these again.  And again.

 Until next time,

 Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

