Cornflake Cookies

This week I meant to make Scott Nutella brownies.  There was this great recipe that I found that only used three ingredients, and I was super excited to make it.  I even decided to brave Walmart on the weekend to get the stuff I needed.  True, it was 8 am on a Sunday when I got there, but it can still be a scary experience!

But, they were out of Nutella.  As in, completely out.  Bare shelves.  Is there a run on Nutella that I don’t know about?  Actually, yes.  Apparently, thieves made out with 5 and a half tons of Nutella in Bad Hersfeld, Germany over the weekend.  Okay, keep calm and go to Pinterest…which will always save the day!  I found this little gem, which might have some pretty strange ingredients for cookies, but nonetheless was a delightful surprise!

Original recipe is here: Dishpan Cookies

What You Need:

2 cups light brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups oil

4 eggs

4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups quick oats

4 cups cornflakes

And Here’s What You Do:

1. In a large bowl, cream together sugars, vanilla, oil, and eggs.  Add the dry ingredients.  Fold in the oats and the cornflakes.

2. Drop by ¼ cup measuring cup onto ungreased cookie sheets.

3. Bake for ten to twelve minutes at 375°, or until edges are lightly browned.

What I Did:

I noticed that the ingredient list was pretty hefty, and it called for a lot of each ingredient (the original recipe states that the baker normally doubles the recipe, and the recipe stated was for a single batch!  Wow, if I put that many in front of Scott, he might pass out!  So, I halved the recipe.  And I used my cookie scoop (behold, the mighty cookie scoop!) to portion the dough out.  And the reusable parchment instead of an ungreased cookie sheet.

The dough was pretty dense, not at all like normal cookie dough.  Probably has to do with the amount of oil that is used instead of butter.  The original recipe says that the batter might be a little dry, but I didn’t have that experience.  It was similar to the chocolate toffee cookies that I made last fall in the consistency of the batter.  And I used my hand mixer instead of the stand mixer for this recipe.  It was so dense that the mixer was pretty warm by the time I had to put in the oats and the cornflakes.  Yikes, I can see easily burning through one of those making a double batch of these cookies!  In hindsite, I probably should have used the stand mixer. 

Image

 Reaction:

Scott took a bite, and immediately his eyebrows came together as he experienced the slight crunchiness of the cookie.  When asked if he liked them, he said, “They’re not bad.” Which means, he may or may not come back in a day or so and tell me that he really likes them.  The jury is still out on that.

I think I would like to make these again, but maybe not for him.   I think he would rather me make him peanut butter cookies or white chocolate macadamia every day, but how boring would that be?

Image

 And if you can figure out where to hide 5 ½ tons of Nutella, let me know.  I’m still baffled about that.

 Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

