Peanut Butter Freezer Bites

Life’s been a little out of sorts lately, so I haven’t had the time for baking that I have in the past.  But, hopefully things have settled for a while, and I can get back to regular posting!

I found this recipe a while back, and I was very intrigued by it (of course I was!  It’s peanut butter and chocolate, for cripe’s sake!)  But, the only downfall was: it uses coconut flour.  And there’s only one place that I can think of in Orlando that might have coconut flour.  Whole Foods, here I come!

 Let me tell you about my obsession with Whole Foods.  I love it there. Scott loves it there.  We are like two kids in a candy store when we go.  We just wander up and down the aisles, looking at all the cool stuff that Walmart and Publix don’t sell.  I wish it was closer to our house.  I would stop there every day.  Literally EVERY DAY.  Just to buy granola, or a gluten free baking mix, or something.  Like an addict in need of a hit.

 Okay, so I found the coconut flour in the baking aisle (along with every other flour that I’ve ever read mentioned in a recipe), and I have a confession to make.  I had to test it, just to see if it actually tasted like coconut.  So, I took the teeniest little bit of it to taste.  After it proceeded to suck all the moisture out of my mouth, I was left with a pretty pleasant coconut flavor.  Yes, I ate flour.  I’m not ashamed to admit it. 

Original Recipe found here: http://www.girlgonecountry.com/recipes-2/peanut-butter-balls-bites-gluten-free-grain-free-paleo/

 What You Need

½ cup peanut butter

1 tsp coconut flour

1 tsp honey

1  tsp vanilla

Pinch sea salt

2 tbp chocolate chips

 And Here’s What You Do

Mix peanut butter, honey, vanilla, and sea salt together.  Add coconut flour and chocolate chips.  Roll into bite sized balls.  Store in freezer.

 What I Did

So, being fresh out of peanut butter, I naturally had to buy some at Whole Foods.  And we are not talking the regular creamy version. We are talking the natural creamy version that all the liquid separates out of.  So, before any assembling of the peanut butter bites occurred, stirring had to happen in the peanut butter.  Out comes the trusty polka-dot straw.

Image

Looks like a smoothie!  Insert straw and go!

Image

That’s better.

The recipe also didn’t make very many of them, so I doubled it.  It still didn’t make a lot.

Image

Reaction

Umm, not sure if I completely like them or not.  They taste a little bit like frozen cookie dough, I guess.  I was thinking that they would taste better than they did. Perhaps if they were just a little smoother, they would be better.  However, I did find them to be a little on the dry side.

 

Leave a Reply

