Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

First off, Happy Blog Anniversary to me!  Everything But the Cupcake is one year old today!  And it all stems from a dear friend suggesting that I should start blogging everything that I was making.  I originally promised to have something new on here every week, come hell or high water.  But, everyone knows that you make plans, and then God laughs at them!

So, May 15th was National Chocolate Day.  When I found that out a work, all other evening plans got put on the back burner because I was determined to celebrate the day with a batch of good old fashioned chocolate chip cookies!  I joyfully recalled that I had a bag of mini chocolate chips (I nearly always have them now), and I just knew that I had all other ingredients.

Yeah, not so much.

Somehow, I’d run out of flour down the road, and it didn’t even occur to me to jot that down or remember that I needed to buy some.  So, what to do when you don’t have ingredients?  You improvise.  I’d found decent success with the gluten free peanut butter cookies, so what resulted was me messing about with that recipe.  And the results were so delightful!

What You Need

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 cups chocolate chips

And Here’s What You Do

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix together peanut butter and eggs until fluffy.  Add sugar and combine thoroughly.  Mix in chocolate chips.  Drop by heaping tablespoons onto a cookie sheet, and bake for 10-12 minutes.

What I Did

I used my cookie scoop to make these pretty uniform and smallish.  And I am still making my way through the natural peanut butter that we bought last week (I went to Whole Foods again.  It was tough not buying everything).

Reaction

I was truly shocked at how good these cookies are.  Sure, the other GF peanut butter cookies I made were good, but these really taste as if they are just small regular chocolate chip cookies!  I really don’t taste the peanut butter in them at all.

photo(8)

I’ve noticed that my cookie sizes have dramatically shrunk since I started this.  I used to make huge cookies, some that might not even fit in your hand.  I scoffed at the number of cookies that a recipe said that it made (I was never able to achieve that number).  But you  know, I am enjoying having the smaller cookies.  I feel that I am able to enjoy one without completely blowing my new healthier diet.

I know, it’s a complete departure from my “I make cookies the size of Texas” mentality from a while ago.  But, live and learn!

 

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

