Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Dream Bars

I truly believe that marriage is a partnership and everyone should get a fair say in decisions that are made that affect the household.  But, Holy Cats, I was getting sick of the frustration of asking Scott what he felt like having for his sweets for the week!  The man loves his peanut butter cookies, and would be perfectly happy with me making them every week.  I’m the one drooling over all the new recipes I keep finding and offering up suggestions, only to be met with rejections.

So, last weekend, I didn’t ask.  I just did.  I found a recipe that I wanted to make, and I made it without even asking him.  And wouldn’t you know…he loves them!  Ha!

Original Recipe is here: http://www.keyingredient.com/recipes/229005431/peanut-butter-and-oatmeal-dream-bars-five-stars/

Here’s What You Need

1 cup melted butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 1/4 cups quick cooking oats

1 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 king sized Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup candy bars, chopped

1 cup chocolate chips

And Here’s What You Do

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line a 9×13 pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.
2. Combine butter, sugar, baking soda, oatmeal, flour & salt in a bowl until crumbly.  This is what it will look like

photo (6)

Set aside 1 cup for the top of the bars.  Now press the rest of the crust into the foil-lined pan.  Bake it for 10 minutes.

3. While the crust is getting all happy in the oven, stir together the peanut butter and the sweetened condensed milk.  I didn’t think it would go so well, but I am happy to be wrong.  this is what I got.

photo (3)

4. Remove the crust from the oven after baking for 10 minutes, then pour the peanut butter filling over the crust.  I used a spatula to even things out.

5. Sprinkle the reserved crumbs over the peanut butter mixture.

photo (5)

6.   Bake for an additional 15 minutes.  Once that is done, evenly distribute the chopped candy bar pieces and chocolate chips over the top.  Place the whole thing back in the oven and bake for another 5-10 minutes or until the topping is golden bown and the chocolate chips are melty.

7. Allow to cool completely before trying to cut.  Best stored in a cool place (like the fridge).

Reaction

So, I didn’t even KNOW that such a thing as Reece’s Candy Bars existed until I read through this recipe. I think I really need to get out more.  Or go up and down the candy aisle a little more than once a year.

I made these while Scott was taking his Saturday nap (poor thing works nights, and I let him sleep as much as he wants whenever we have a weekend that we aren’t busy), so I could bake undisturbed.  Once he got up, however, the sampling began!  I think he was pleasantly surprised by them.

photo (7)

 

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

