Doubletree Hotel Chocolate Chip Cookies

I know that I said a while back that I would stop looking for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I will now gladly eat those words, along with a few of these delightful cookies!

When I was 19 years old, I checked into a Doubletree Hotel for the first time.  Along with my room key, they handed me two fragrantly warm chocolate chip cookies.  I was in absolute heaven!  It’s one of the things that I look forward to every time I check into a Doubletree.  For those of you have never experienced these nuggets of joy, I have happily stumbled upon the recipe for the very cookies that I had that first time!

The original recipe is here: http://www.thelittlekitchen.net/doubletree-hotel-copycat-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe/ 

Upon request of the website, I’ve written out the directions just how I put them together.  This is not a direct copy of the recipe directions that I found. 

What You Need

½ cup rolled oats

1 cup butter, softened

¾ cup brown sugar

¾ cup sugar

 2 teaspoons vanilla

½ teaspoon lemon juice

2 eggs

 2 ¼ cups flour

 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon cinnamon

3 cups chocolate chips

1 cup chopped walnuts

 

And Here’s What You Do

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Put oats into a food processor and pulse until fine

Cream together butter, both sugars, vanilla and lemon juice in a stand mixer.  Add eggs one at a time and mix until smooth.

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Add to the butter/sugar mixture a little at a time, being careful not to over-mix.  Add the chocolate chips and the walnuts with a rubber spatula until completely mixed.

Scoop cookie dough by rounded tablespoons onto a cookie sheet at least 1 ½ inches apart.  Bake for 12 minutes or until desired doneness.  Cool on a wire rack.

Image

Reaction

I initially made these cookies because I needed a little help convincing some coworkers.  Okay, I was bribing them.  I figure that food works just as well as money.  And, I am happy to say that it worked!  There is a delightful chewiness to these that I haven’t experienced before.  I guarantee that they will be a crowd pleasure!

These cookies were also the inspiration for me to create my own chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I think that will be an heirloom type of recipe…you know, the ones that you don’t share!

 

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

