Blueberry Oatmeal Cookies

Scott and I are getting ready for vacation, and since he has a stash of granola bites and some chocolate chip cookies to get him through this week, I decided that it was time to indulge my coworkers in something that I made just for them.

I started a board on Pinterest that others can pin to, and it’s all recipes that they want me to make.  It helps me to broaden my horizons in baking since there are recipes on there that I probably would not think to pin and make myself.  That’s where this recipe comes from!

Original Recipe is here: http://sbhallfamily.blogspot.com/2013/07/blueberry-oatmeal-cookies.html

Here’s What You Need

½ cup butter, softened

½ canola oil

2 cups packed brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups oatmeal

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

2 cups fresh blueberries

 And Here’s What You Do

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix the butter, oil and brown sugar until creamy.  Mix in the egg and vanilla until smooth.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, oats and salr, then pour into the wet mixture in small amounts until completely combined.  Add the blueberries and mix well.  Drop by large spoonful onto a cookie sheet and bake for 12 to 15 minutes until golden brown.

What I Did

I mixed everything together using my stand mixer until I got to the part about putting in the blueberries.  I have to tell you, I nearly removed them.  The jumbo blueberries that are currently in stores here in Florida are not built for inclusion into cookies!  So, me and my trusty spatula kept at it until the little blues finally succumbed and agreed to being mixed in to their oatey neighbors.

That being said, the dough that came out of the very bottom of the bowl was very wet and very blueberry heavy.  These actually ended up not making it to work because they were so soft, and they fell apart after being taken off the cookie sheet.

photo (10) Reaction

These cookies are very much like a blueberry crumble, except in cookie form.  I could really see myself with one of these babies and a bowl of vanilla ice cream.  The interesting bit about them is that they taste as if they have cinnamon in them, when they don’t have any.  I had the suggestion that perhaps it was the brown sugar, but I really don’t know.

What I do know is that these babies are delightful!

photo (11)

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Oatmeal Cookies

  1. HI! So glad you made these lovely delights! I just made a batch this morning : ) This time I played with the measurements and used 3/4 cup regular sugar and 1 1/4 cup of brown. They held together after cooling but were still chewy and soft. Cheers! ~ Jenn

Leave a Reply

