Pumpkin Bread

Few things are as warm and comforting as a loaf of quick bread.  In very little time (and mostly with ingredients that you have on hand) you can have a loaf of bread that fills your kitchen with it’s delightful aroma.

I truly have been on a bit of a pumpkin kick lately.  When I lived in cooler weather, I never craved the spices and flavors of fall.  Now that I live where the weather is pretty mild throughout the year, I find that I look forward to the cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger flavors more as the years pass.

Original recipe is here: http://www.carpoolcoutureandcocktails.com/2013/09/22/an-autumn-tradition-pumpkin-bread/

What You Need

1 15 oz can pumpkin

4 eggs

1 c veggie oil

2/3 c water

3 cups sugar

3 ½ c all purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 ½ tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp ground cloves

¼ tsp ground ginger

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, then grease and flour three loaf pans.
  2. Mix together pumpkin, eggs, oil, water, and sugar in a large bowl until well blended.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and spices. Mix the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended.  Pour into the pans
  4. Bake for about 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the center.

What I Did

Three loaves of bread?  How about three different versions of the bread?  I made one plain, on topped with mini chocolate chips (cause you know I’ve got a bag in the cupboard), and one with chocolate chips throughout.

photo (5)

Reaction

If you like banana bread, then I’m pretty sure that you will love this bread!  The one thing that I don’t like about banana bread is that it easily falls apart.  The pumpkin kept these loaves  together almost in a cake-like way.

I took the loaves to work to help celebrate the beginning of our new fiscal year.  It may sound odd, but I get such joy out of watching others enjoy what I have made.

I think this might replace banana bread at any time of the year…

 

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

