Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

So I’m off the pumpkin, but only for a little while…

It feels as though we celebrate all things fall for so long that we should be past Halloween by now.  But, here we are, staring at another eight days before the spookiness begins.  Of course, that also means that all I want to do is eat and bake, and then eat more!  Besides, that is what you are supposed to do when the weather gets cool, right?

Right, this is Florida, and we’re getting a resurgence of 90 degree weather.  Awesome.  I’ll go back to wearing my shorts and sipping on my icy drink…

Anyway, after being absent for a few weeks, I thought that I would start off with a standard cookie for you to enjoy.  Life gets in the way a little bit sometimes, and so does that cruise ship that we got off of a week ago!  Speaking of which, if you’ve ever been on a Carnival ship, you can understand my obsession with their warm chocolate melting cake.  I have found the recipe online, and I am determined to try it!

So, here’s the cookie of the week:  Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I need to come up with a better name..

Original Recipe is Here: http://www.mostlyhomemademom.com/2012/12/oatmeal-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip.html?m=1

What You Need:

½ cup butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

¾ cup brown sugar

¾ cup peanut butter

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 cup oats

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Cream together butter, peanut butter, and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla.
  3. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Add to wet mixture until combined.
  4.  Stir in oats and chocolate chips.  Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto cookie sheets.  Flatted with the bottom of a glass, or press down with a fork in a criss-cross pattern.
  5. Bake for 6-9 minutes or until the edges begin to brown.  Cool on wire racks.

 

What I Did

Sometimes I feel like the laziest baker in the world.  You know where it says ‘sift together the flour, baking soda…” above?  I didn’t.  I added it all straight to the wet mixture, starting with the baking soda.  Measured it straight into the mixer.  Do not pass go, do not collect $200.  Do I feel like a cheat?  Sometimes.  Have I noticed a difference when I follow the directions to the letter?  No.  Does Scott love me any less because I don’t follow the recipe exactly?  No.

I guess my point here is: You can make some short cuts in baking and still have things turn out perfect.  Since I discovered what “cream together until light and fluffy” meant, that is one step that I haven’t skipped.  But it doesn’t mean that my cookies were inferior because I didn’t take the time.  Long story short, don’t feel bad if you don’t mix things in the right order or forget to sift the flour.

However, this is cookies we are talking about.  Cake is a whole other subject.  There’s a reason I don’t make many cakes (if ever).

Anyway, moving on.  It says to bake these cookies for 6-9 minutes.  At 6 minutes, the edges were lovely and brown, but the cookies themselves were in no shape to move from the sheet.  So, I let them stay there and set up for a while.  Now they are holding up like little champions!

photo

Reaction

Scott didn’t say much about them when he first tried them.  However, there is a distinct lack of cookie from the time I went to work this morning to the time that I came home.  I will take that as a good sign.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

