Cranberry Orange Relish

The holiday season is upon us!  I have been truly bitten by the Christmas bug this year, and have been on the hunt for weeks searching for great recipes to try this season. 

This one fell in my lap in early November.  It comes from a chef by the name of Jennifer Hill Booker from Georgia.  Her website is www.yourresidentgourmet.com.  When I tried this relish, I knew that it would be perfect for Thanksgiving.  So, I gave it a whirl.  And boy, was I glad that I did!

What You Need:

1 cup fresh cranberries

1 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

3/4 cup orange juice

1 orange, peeled and segmented

1 teaspoon orange zest

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup orange liqueur (optional)

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 pinch sea salt

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Combine all ingredients into a medium-sized, heavy bottom sauce pan.
  2. Bring the relish up to a boil and then reduce to a simmer, stirring occasionally
  3. Simmer the mixture until the cranberries burst and the relish thickens, about 25 minutes
  4. Remove from heat and allow the relish to cool.  It will thicken as it cools

What I did:

I followed the directions since this was my first attempt at making anything remotely relish-y.  I was sure that I was going to mess it up somehow, and end up with a charred lump of mess in the bottom of the pan. 

I was so wrong!   You truly cannot mess this one up at all.  Sure, you need to keep an eye on it and make sure that you do indeed stir it, but it was super easy.

Here it is on our gourmet turkey sandwiches that we had the day after Thanksgiving.  Yes, that is also bacon that you see.

Image

Reaction:

Scott doesn’t even really like cranberry sauce, and he liked this!  I thought it was heaven, and I’m very happy that we happened to have orange liqueur on hand.

Leave a Reply

