Eggnog Cookies Or, Why Is All the Rum Gone??

I love eggnog.  I know there are quite a few people that think it is the nastiest, most vile thing on the planet, but I am not one of them.  Granted, I don’t drink gallons of it during the holidays, but I do enjoy the glass or two of it during Christmas parties.  But, before this recipe, I had never cooked with it.  Wow, was I missing out!

I try to take a few baked goodies to the coworkers during the month of December, and I usually do it all on one day.  This year, I’m breaking up the goodie-bringing over the course of a few weeks, mainly for two reasons:  1-it lets them enjoy the festive baking for a little while longer and 2-Getting into the Christmas spirit so early this year has led me to get nearly everything done that needs to be done before the big day, and I’ve gotten lazy and I don’t want to spend my entire weekend on baking.  So, I spend a few hours each weekend putting together something that I know that they will love.

I’ve seen quite a few recipes for eggnog cookies, but I’ve never actually tried them.  After tasting these, I really don’t know why I have waited so long.  I suppose that maybe one day I will find a sugar cookie recipe that I absolutely cannot live without.  For the record, I’m not a fan of sugar cookies, so I can pretty much live without a recipe for them for now.   Anyway, this is the eggnog cookie recipe that I cannot live without.

And it comes from here: http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/11/melt-mouth-eggnog-cookies/

What You Need:

2 ¼ cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp ground nutmeg (plus more for topping)

½ tsp cinnamon

¾ cup unsalted butter, room temperature

½ cup sugar

½ cup light-brown sugar

2 egg yolks

1 tsp vanilla

½ tsp rum extract (or rum, if you’re like me)

½ cup eggnog

For the Frosting:

½ cup butter, room temperature

3-5 Tbsp eggnog

½ tsp rum extract

3 cups powdered sugar

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.  In a separate bowl, mix together the butter and sugars until pale and fluffy.  Mix in the egg yolks one at a time, blending until just combined after each.  Mix in the vanilla extract, rum, and eggnog.
  3. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture until just combined.
  4. Scoop out dough by heaping tablespoonfuls and drop onto cookie sheet, spacing cookies 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Allow the cookies to rest on the baking sheet several minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
  5. While the cookies are cooking, whip the butter for the frosting until pale and fluffy (I did this in my stand mixer.  On low, it took about 3-5 minutes).  Add in rum and 3 tbsp eggnog and the powdered sugar.  Add more eggnog to reach desired consistency.
  6. Cool completely before frosting, then sprinkle lightly with nutmeg.

What I Did:

Rum extract?  Oops…kinda forget to get some of that.  Eh, why not use the real thing?

Image

Yup, I am putting the alcohol in the recipe again!  (See the cranberry orange relish from last week to see my latest dabbling in cooking with alcohol).  It’s truly such a minuscule amount that no one would ever be affected by it.  And most of it cooks out when you bake the cookies anyway… Of course, you don’t bake the frosting, so that has the potential to make you a little tipsy, but only if you were to eat gallons of it.  Which I don’t recommend.  If you are eating gallons of rum frosting to get a buzz, you may want to rethink your strategy.

Reaction

The dough was pretty ‘wet’, for lack of a better term.  I was a little afraid that they might spread out just a bit further than I wanted them to, but as you can see below, they turned out quite lovely.

Image

They smelled divine, and I couldn’t wait to get them frosted.  I made sure to make just one batch, just in case they didn’t turn out.  The only thing that I was not pleased with was that they stuck to the parchment a little, and some cookies took gentle convincing with a spatula to get them off the sheet.  Although, I think I can overlook the sticking due to the fact that everything else was so incredible.

Image

The coworkers seemed to like them.  A lot.  The sprinkling of nutmeg on the top not only gave them an air of sophistication, it also mingled with the eggnog aroma and sent most people diving in before I had gotten the container open completely.

I would call this one a win, definitely!  I will make it again, and keep my supple of rum in high demand!

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

