Cinnamon Brown Sugar Cookies or, Attack of the Cinnamon Monster

I am not an ingredient snob.  I don’t need the finest ingredients to add to my baking.  I like a good deal the same as the next person.  So, when I was on a recent shopping excursion to the big blue box store (I do hate shopping there, but the prices are reasonable), I found a certain spice brand was selling for about 67 cents per container.  Score!  I picked up two containers of cinnamon since I knew that I was nearly out.  I was very happy with my find, almost as if I had been smiled down upon by the baking gods.

Life was good.

Fast forward about two weeks when Scott is clearing out the spice cupboard, and finds the three (three?) containers of cinnamon that we owned.  Yeah, I have a habit of not looking thoroughly through the cupboard before assuming we are out of something.  Its how we’ve ended up with enough peppercorns to last us for about five years.  (But Honey, I’m sure that don’t have any.  I looked!)

So, we have a lot of cinnamon to use.  This week, I threw together a “French Apple Crumble” to take to work and use up the last bit of apples from the family’s visit (It turned out strange.  I wanted more of a crispy apple…thing.  May or may not do a post on that… And I made more apple oatmeal muffins for breakfast (those will warrant a blog post.  They’re delightful).  And I made this recipe.

Original Recipe is here: http://thewednesdaybaker.blogspot.com/2013/11/brown-sugar-cinnamon-cookies.html

What You Need:

1 cup butter, softened
1 ½ cup brown sugar
1 egg
2 ¼ cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
¾ tsp cinnamon
10 ounces cinnamon chips (Hershey makes these. I can usually find them year round)

And Here’s What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and mix until well combined.  In a separate bowl whisk together the dry ingredients except for the chips
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine thoroughly. Stir in the cinnamon chips.
  4. Drop dough by rounded spoonful onto a cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes and allow to cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before moving to a wire rack.

What I Did

I use any excuse to buy something baking related that I haven’t used frequently in the past.  When Scott said yes to my suggestion of these cookies, I jumped at the chance and didn’t let him change his mind.  Luckily, I was able to find the cinnamon chips without any trouble.  And I didn’t see any reason to change the directions as they were.

There was a funny incident with my mixer, which nearly always ends up like this:

mixer shit

Reaction

Scott was peering over my shoulder as the first pans came out of the oven.  He waited about 60 seconds before snatching one up and devouring it.  To which he said, “These don’t suck.”  (Scotty speak for, “Dang, these are good!”).  So, going to keep this recipe for the future!

photo(7)

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

