Cracker Barrel Chocolate Coke Cake

I will be the first one to admit that I am not a cake person. That being said, every once in a while, I can be persuaded to try a piece. I tried this cake at Cracker Barrel, and I knew that I had to see if I could find the recipe for it.

Original Recipe is here: http://www.allfreecopycatrecipes.com/Dessert-Recipes/Copycat-Cracker-Barrel-Coke-Cake

What You Need

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

2 cups sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup unsalted butter

1 cup Coca Cola

5 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

½ cup unsalted butter

3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

9 tbsp Coca Cola

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

 

And Here’s What You Do

1. Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare a 9×13 baking pan using your favorite meathod. In a mixing bowl, whisk together flour, granulated sugar and baking soda and Set aside. In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt 1 cup butter with 5 tablespoons cocoa and 1 cup Coca Cola. Bring to a boil, whisking together as it melts.

2. Pour the chocolate mixture over the flour mixture and stir until combined. Add the buttermilk, eggs, and vanilla, stirring well until combined

3. Pour the batter into the prepared 9×13 pan and bake for 40 minutes (mine was done at 30 minutes).

4. For the topping, sift 4 cups of confectioner’s sugar into a large mixing bowl. In a small saucepan over medium heat melt 1/2 cup butter, 3 tablespoons cocoa powder and 9 tablespoons Coca Cola. Whisk together and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and whisk in 1 teaspoon vanilla. Pour the warm chocolate mixture over the sifted confectioners’ sugar. Whisk together until completely combined.

5. Remove the cake from the oven once it is done and poke with a fork all over the top. Slowly drizzle the warm chocolate frosting over the cake. Allow to cool completely before serving.photo 2(2)

 

What I Did

This recipe originally calls for a marshmallow fluff layer between the cake and the frosting. However, this was already turning out to be a pretty sweet cake, so I decided to omit the marshmallow and just go

with the frosting. I don’t think it is lacking anything. And the cake that we had at the restaurant didn’t have the fluff either.

Reaction

I think my coworkers really needed the chocolate cake today. Maybe it’s due to the fact that it is Monday, and Mondays around the office tend to be pretty hectic. But, it certainly was welcome.

I think the next time I make this cake, I will remove some of the sugar in it.  The cake had a bit of a grainy texture, but perhaps that was just the frosting.  Perhaps I didn’t cook it long enough…In any case, definitely worth another try!

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

