Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies – From my own little brain!

I’m not normally a genius when it comes to developing my own recipe.  When cooking dinner (or any meal for that matter), I really need to have a recipe to follow.  I’m not blessed with the ability to look at what I have in the fridge and whip up a gourmet meal from a can of tomatoes and a piece of cheese. 

That’s what Scott does.  And it baffles me every time.

However, about once a year, I’m struck with an idea that I feel is completely brilliant, and it seems to work out exactly how I imagined it.  What follows is a recipe that got it’s start as about five other recipes, and a lot of intuitive thinking whilst I was in the kitchen.

Original recipe from my own brain.

 

What You Need

½ cup rolled oats (or old fashioned)

1 cup butter

¾ cup brown sugar

¾ cup sugar

1 ½ – 2 teaspoons vanilla

1 small box instant chocolate pudding (unprepared)

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 ½ tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

1 ½ tsp powdered peanut butter (optional) – More on this later

1 ½ cups peanut butter chips

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Pulse oats in a food processor until fine.  Set aside.
  2. In a stand mixer, combine butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, thoroughly mixing after each egg.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, salt & pudding mix.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Carefully stir in the peanut butter chips.
  4. Divide dough out onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet using a cookie scoop.
  5. Bake for 14-16 minutes or until the edges have just slightly turned brown.  Remove from the oven and let them sit on the hot sheet for a few minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.

 What Have I Done???

I’ve been eyeing powdered peanut butter for a while.  I’ve read about it most often in the Hungry Girl emails as a good way to add the peanut butter flavor without all of the fat and calories.  Turns out, the powdered stuff has only 45 calories per each 2 tsp serving, and about a third of the fat that regular PB has!  And you can add water and make your own low-fat and incredibly yummy peanut butter!  I promise, it doesn’t taste powdery.

 Image

I’m not sure that the powdered peanut butter adds that much flavor, but there is a subtle richness to the cookies that might not be there if it were removed.  I’ll have to test that theory.

It is a creation of Bell Plantation.  Visit them here: http://www.bellplantation.com/

I bought it at my local Walmart when I was brave enough to go in last Saturday.  It also comes in chocolate.  I may have to go and get some of that as well.

 Reaction

Scott had a fresh one right off the cookie sheet…I just caught him eating another one…and it’s before dinner…anyway, he said that he really likes how they are not terribly sweet.  He also said they were “pretty good”, and considering that I saw him eat at least five yesterday, I would say that he likes them a lot.

 I think that I might have been picturing them turning out slightly darker.  As it is, they are the color of a lovely glass of chocolate milk.  While still lovely, not the shade I had thought.  But, considering how tasty they are, I don’t think that I will change that much.  Maybe I would get a different result with cocoa powder, but not the same consistency.

 Image

 Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

