Valentine’s Day Double Whammie!

Last week was pretty busy at work, and I have some of the world’s best coworkers.  What could have been a very stressful week wasn’t bad, and I have them to thank.  So, I decided to make them some cookies.  And what better way than to be super seasonal about it and make Valentine’s Day-themed cookies?

I made two different kinds this week – Red Velvet and Strawberry.  This is my first attempt at making Red Velvet anything, but I think that the results speak for themselves!

The red velvet recipe is here: http://www.cookingclassy.com/2012/08/red-velvet-white-chocolate-chip-cookies/#comment-25805

And the strawberry is here: http://www.tasteandtellblog.com/cake-mix-cookies/

 Strawberry  Cake Cookies

What You Need

1 box strawberry cake mix

2 eggs

½ cup oil

½ cup coconut

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine eggs and oil until well mixed.  Stir in the cake mix and the coconut.
  3. Drop by teaspoon full onto a cookie sheet.
  4. Bake 8-10 minutes.

photo 2(1)

Red Velvet Cookies

What You Need

2 ¼ cups flour

2 ½ tbsp. cocoa powder

1 ½ tsp cornstarch

¾ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

8 Tbsp butter, softened

6 Tbsp vegetable shortening

1 ½ cups sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 ½ tsp white vinegar

1 ½ tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp red food coloring

1 1/3 cups white chocolate chips

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, cocoa powder, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt and set adie
  3. In a stand mixer, beat together butter, shortening, and sugar until pale in color and fluffy.  Add in egg and egg yolk, mixing until well combined.
  4. Add vinegar, vanilla, and food coloring and mix well.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.  Mix in ½ cup of the white chocolate chips.
  6. Scoop out dough by tablespoonful, roll into balls, and place on cookie sheet.
  7. Press approximately 6 white chocolate chips into the top of each cookie, being careful not to flatten the cookies too much.
  8. Bake for 8-9 minutes.  Allow to cool for several minutes on the sheet before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely

photo 1

I won’t bother to go into what I did, since I pretty much followed the recipes this week.  No changes or substitutions whatsoever.

Reaction

I love seeing my coworker’s reaction when they are eating something that I’ve made.  It makes my heart happy to see them enjoying it.  That’s really why I do it.  That and I think I might be addicted to baking.

I think I would have liked to see the red velvet turn out a little softer, but I think they were good considering it was my first try.

 

Oh!  I’m on Facebook now!  You can see the link on the right side of this page!  It’s small, but I might post pictures of recipes that I didn’t use here, and some glorious failures that I’ve had along the way!

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

