Blueberry Scones, My Dear Watson…

I’m slowly turning everyone around me into a Sherlock fan.

It started simply enough…I found one of my coworkers who also watched the show, then we started talking about how great it was, then we got one more person to watch, then another, then another…

Anyway, what started simply enough turned into a group of us planning a Sherlock day where we watched an entire season of the show and celebrated being Anglophiles. Which led to the request for blueberry scones.  Which led to this…

Original Recipe is here: http://www.babble.com/best-recipes/blueberry-lemon-cream-scones/

What You Need

2 cups flour
grated zest of a lemon
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 ¼ cups heavy cream, plus extra for brushing
¾ cup fresh or frozen (don’t thaw them) blueberries

 

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet using your favorite method.  I prefer my parchment paper.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients along with the zest in a bowl.  Slowly mix in the cream until a soft dough forms.
  3. Remove the dough to a lightly floured board (or a very clean kitchen counter) and knead a few times.  Pat the dough down to about a half of an inch thick, then place the berries over the dough.  Fold the dough over to enclose the berries a few times until all the berries are trapped within the dough.  Pat out the dough into a circle, about an inch thick.  Brush the tops with more cream, then sprinkle with coarse sugar.
  4. Cut into 8 wedges, then place on the baking sheet about an inch apart.  Bake for approximately 15 minutes, or until they turn golden.  Serve immediately.
  5. Makes 8 scones.

 

photo(2)

What I Did

I wasn’t terribly hesitant to make them, but I didn’t have a basis for comparison.  That can sometimes lead to second guessing yourself and making big mistakes.  Luckily, I was able to avoid that.

I did find out that a great time to go to the Big Blue Box Store is 6:30 am on a Saturday morning.  I really dislike going there, but it was the only alternative at that time of the morning.  I needed almost everything for the scones since my stock of flour and sugar and whatnot was diminished over the holidays.

Reaction

I think the best compliment that I got was the fact that they didn’t last but about 20 minutes.  Granted, there were five of us and only eight scones, but still!  One of the ladies described them as lovely and buttery in the center.  I completely agree with her, but I chuckle at the fact that there isn’t a bit of butter in them!  This is one of those magical recipes that are able to bring out the richness of all of the ingredients to the point where you think you are tasting ingredients that aren’t there.

1901732_10102999126543210_1228756333_nAbove picture courtesy of Shaina Mangino

They were gone so quickly that I wasn’t able to take a picture.  Luckily, one of the ladies snapped a pic of them and some of the other goodies that we had, so I have a bit of a reference for what they looked like. Definitely keeping this one for the future!

I’ll have to make them the next time we have a Sherlock day.  If you don’t watch, you should!

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

 

Leave a Reply

