German Chocolate Cookies – The Cookies That Seemed to Take Forever

See, this is what I don’t understand.  A recipe that says it takes 35 minutes from start to finish should take 35 minutes from start to finish.  I worked on this recipe for two hours.  And that was with starting with softened butter.  Unless all the cookie sheets are going into the oven at the same time, there is no way that this recipe could take 35 minutes.  I spent 35 minutes just baking the dang things since I can only fit two cookie sheets in my oven at a time.  Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not criticizing the author of the original recipe, I’m just trying to figure out why these recipes always take me at least twice as long to get through.  If anyone has any idea, please let me know!

Original Recipe is here: http://www.adashofsanity.com/2014/01/german-chocolate-cake-cookies/

What You Need

For the Cookie:

2 sticks butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 tsps vanilla

2 large eggs, beaten

2 ¼ cups flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

Pinch salt

For the Frosting:

1 cup evaporated milk

1 cup sugar

3 egg yolks

½ cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut

1 cup chopped pecans

And Here’s What You Do

For the Cookie:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Prepare your sheets using your favorite method.
  2. Mix together the butter, sugars, vanilla and eggs until combined.  In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Carefully add the flour mixture into the butter mixture and mix until combined.
  3. Drop by tablespoonful onto the cookie sheets.  Bake for 8 to 10 minutes and cool on a wire rack.

For the Frosting:

  1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, combine the evaporated milk, sugar, egg yolks, butter, and vanilla.
  2. Stir to combine, then continue to stir until the mixture becomes thickened (this takes about 11 minutes).
  3. Once the mixture thickens, remove it from the heat and stir in the coconut and pecans.  Combine and cool until thick enough to spread on the cookies.

Reaction

Normally when I make frosted cookies, I always have a ton of frosting left over.  This time, I was not so lucky!  I have five naked cookies cooling on the rack right now.  Granted, I could have scraped some of the excess off the others…

I’m pretty pleased with the way that these turned out.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to make this morning, and was going down the list of recipes that I want to try when I called this one out to Scott.  He seemed pretty keen to the idea, so I jumped at the chance to make him something that he actually asked for.

photo (2)

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

