Duo – Chip Pecan Cookies

After last week’s fiasco of a recipe (although they did turn out to be ok. Just really cakey and soft), I knew that I wanted to step up my game and give Scott something really good this week. I thought about ingredients that I had, and what I wanted to accomplish. I was dreaming up this grand recipe that had cinnamon and pecans and white and semi-sweet chocolate chips in it, and I turned to Pinterest to help me find something that was similar enough to my vision that I could work off of.

Turns out, I pinned exactly was I was looking for a few weeks ago. Yeah, so much for grandiose original ideas.

Whatever. The cookies are awesome. And I feel redeemed.

Original Recipe is here: http://www.thecafesucrefarine.com

 

Here’s What you Need

1 cup butter

1 ¼ cups Brown Sugar

½ cup Sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1 cup oats

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp cinnamon

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup roughly chopped pecans

 

And Here’s What You Do

1. Melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in the sugars until incorporated and smooth. Remove from heat and chill the mixture for 10 minutes.

2. I chopped my pecans during the 10 minute chill out. And measured out the white and semi-sweet chocolate chips for ease of adding to the recipe.

3. Remove the butter and sugar mix from the fridge and stir in the egg and egg yolk and the vanilla. Add the oats, flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and stir until combined.

4. Stir in the chocolate chips and the nuts. At this point, I removed my rings, washed my hands thoroughly, and went to town on the mix with my hands. The poor spoon could not hold up.

5. Roll into small balls and place on your prepared cookie sheets.

6. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Chill those little cookie dough balls for 30 minutes.

7. Bake the cookies for 14-18 minutes. Let them chill out on the sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

What I Did

Normally, I am not one to chill dough. I have not had good experiences with it at all. But, due to the hearty nature of this dough, I felt that it had a fighting chance of standing up to whatever strange chemical reaction normally happens when I chill dough and it turns out poorly. But, since this dough started out life pretty warm, I thought that it would be ok.

I also used my trusty cookie scoop instead of rolling them into balls.

The recipe calls for 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, but I used more like 1/2 tsp.  I was in a cinnamon mood. And we have plenty.

Oh, and you know that I used the mini chocolate chips.  I bought another bag, just to have them around.

photo 2

Reaction

I didn’t leave these guys for a minute when they were in the oven. I hovered over the door like a mother hen over her newly-hatched chicks. I turned the light on, looked nervously every few seconds…I wanted nothing to happen to these. I should not have worried so much as they turned out perfectly. Not too big, not too dark on the bottom, just all shades of perfect!

I think Scott liked them, as cookies kept disappearing throughout the afternoon as they cooled. Of course, he looks innocent and never knows what I’m talking about when I asked him about the missing cookies…

photo 1

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

