Browned Butter Cinnamon Chip Bars

Various coworkers have been bugging me to bring baked things in again. I really haven’t brought anything in since the holidays, so it was definitely time to do so. I learned how to do something new, and I think it turned out very well…
Original recipe is here: http://picky-palate.com/2014/02/03/brown-sugar-cinnamon-sugar-cookie-bars/
What You Need
2 sticks unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar, packed
½ cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose Gold Medal Flour
½ tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
1 cup cinnamon chips

2 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

And Here’s What You Do
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Line a 9×13 inch baking dish with foil. Place butter into a saucepan over medium heat. Melt the butter and cook until browned, swirling the pan occasionally. Remove from heat and let cool for 20 minutes.
3. Pour the butter into a stand mixer. Add sugar and mix until well combined. Add eggs and vanilla, stirring well. Add flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and cinnamon chips, mixing until just combined. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish, and press evenly into the bottom of the pan. Stir together the 2 tbsp of sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon in a small bowl, then sprinkling over top of pressed dough. Bake for 25-30 minutes until baked through. Remove from oven and let cool for 30 minutes then cut into square and serve.
What I Did
So, I was making a batch of cookies at the same time, so I got the butters mixed up. It was a little too late for the cookies (which turned out fine even with the extra butter), but it gave me the opportunity to practice with browning butter. What a trip that is! I had never done that before, so I’m glad that the recipe came with instructions on browning butter. Just don’t turn your back on it. It goes from golden and frothy to brown and hearty in a blink of an eye.
See this?
photo 1 (2)
Compared to this:

photo 2 (2)

That is some browned butter in there!  When the bubbles come up a lovely caramel shade, then take it off the heat.

Reaction
I was a little hesitant about these. When I cut them, they seemed to be quite dry and hard. But after trying one of them, the bars seemed to be living up to their promises. I had Scott try one, and he said that they were really good.
So, with a little faith, I took them to work. And they disappeared quickly.
So, apparently they were better than I thought they were.

photo 3

That’s not a great picture, but I forgot to get a pretty one before I went to work.  They look a bit like inedible bricks.

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

