Muffins Got the Blues

I know it has been a while since I put up something new. Truth is, we’ve been watching the waistlines around here (or at least trying to), so we decided to give up our weekly homemade treat. That is, until today.

We’ve had some beautiful weather here lately, and Scott and I have been making every attempt to get out in it this long weekend. Sunday’s outing was to a local blueberry farm where you pick your own berries. I’d never been, and now I can’t wait to go back! We came home with 4 pounds of deliciously warm berries (try to resist popping one of those gorgeous and warmed-by-the-sun beauties in your mouth. I dare you!), and my fingers itched to do something with them. I’ve sorted them into two-cup bags for future use. And I came across this beauty of a recipe.

Original recipe is here: http://domesticatedacademic.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/power-muffins-blueberryoatmealyogurtpower/

What You Need

2 cups flour

1 cup oats

2/3 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 ½ cups plain Greek Yogurt

2 eggs, slightly beaten

2 tbsp butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup fresh blueberries

And Here’s What You Do

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Either spray a muffin tin with non-stick spray or line with paper liners
  3. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl
  4. Combine all wet ingredients (minus blueberries) in a separate bowl
  5. Carefully fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients
  6. Gently fold in the blueberries
  7. Divide batter into muffin tins
  8. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the top is golden and an inserted toothpick comes out clean

What I Did

The original recipe calls for rolled or quick-cooking oats. I only had old fashioned oats, so that is what I used. I feel that it gives a certain heartiness to the texture. It also called for honey Greek yogurt, but since I knew that I would have leftover yogurt, and I’m more prone to eat the plain, that is what I went with. I also kept a few blueberries back to stick on the tops of the muffins right before they went into the oven. I topped each one off with a small sprinkling of sparkle sugar, and I’m very pleased with the way that they turned out!

Don’t expect a runny or thin batter. Due to the high water content of the berries, the batter alone needs to be a little on the dry and sticky side. And be patient getting the ingredients combined. Just when you think that all of the flour has been incorporated into the wet ingredients, you find another little pocket. Just keep gently working at it, and you will eventually get there.

It will look something like this:

Bit dry

Reaction

Scott and I split one right after the first pan came out of the oven, and we both agreed that they were delightful. The muffin itself is not terribly sweet, having to balance the sweetness of the berries. The moisture from the berries also does a fine job of getting through the batter, so don’t worry about dry muffins. I assure you, they will turn out just fine.

I’m waiting on the reaction from coworkers, as the muffins will be making their way to my work in the morning. I figure that everyone needs a little pick-me-up coming back to work after a three day weekend.

There really should be more of those.  Three day weekends AND blueberry muffins.

Glorious!

Until Next Time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

