Simply Divine Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

This post has been a very long time in coming. But not without good reasons…

The first part of the year (read that as starting on January 1st) we dealt with renovating 90% of our home due to a flood that sat in the house undetected for four days. It’s not fun when you have been flying all night and you walk into three inches of water across your ground floor. So, after moving out for a few months, replacing most of our furniture, then having to deep clean all possessions, we’ve finally settled back in and gotten back into a routine.

Which brings me back to baking on Sundays. Did I mention that I got a brand new kitchen out of the flood? Yeah, I did. Here’s a photo of the new countertops, and a Christmas gift to myself from last year…

IMG_1491I finally upgraded to the Mac Daddy of mixers! The next level up is the commercial grade floor mixer, and I’m not there…yet.

Anyway, I have been baking. I promise. I finally have a little time to toss together a post on my latest cookies, which are still cooling on the rack.

Original Recipe is here: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/10/08/death-by-chocolate-peanut-butter-chip-cookies/

What You Need

  • 1 cup plus 1 Tbsp flour
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • ¾ cup packed light brown sugar
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup peanut butter chips

And Here’s What You Do

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave for about 1 minute. Stir. Continue to melt in 30 second increments until fully melted and smooth. Set aside.

Whisk the eggs and vanilla in a separate bowl from the chocolate and flour mixture. Set aside. With a stand mixer with paddle attachment, beat the butter until smooth and creamy – about 1 minute. Beat in the sugars, scraping down the sides every so often. The mixture will be granular.

Mix in the beaten egg/vanilla until incorporated. Add the chocolate in a steady stream and beat until combined. Add the dry ingredients slowly. Fold in the chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. Be careful not to overmix.

Chill dough for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.

Scoop about 2 Tbsp of dough and roll into a ball. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the cookies have just begun to set with the centers still appearing very soft.

Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for at least 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

What I Did

Since these started life as “Death By Chocolate” cookies, I added a packet of chocolate pudding to the mix. Pudding makes the cookies nice and soft, and has a tendency to keep them soft throughout the week. Plus, it adds a little something to the taste. Not a separate flavor, just an added richness to the flavor.   And who can say no to a little extra chocolate?

IMG_1492I also used the mini chocolate chips (of course) instead of the normal-sized chips. It seems to be just a little more interesting when you have multiple chip flavors that are different sized than all chips of once size.

I also poked a few of the peanut butter chips on the top of the cookies before they baked just to make them a little prettier. Ha! Something they never really tell you in recipes, but they all do in order to make cookies photograph better.

I wasn’t having luck streaming the chocolate in while the mixer was on. The chocolate was collecting on the top of the beater, and spraying all over the upper edge of the mixing bowl. So, I turned it off and poured the chocolate all in at once.

Something else that I’ve also learned is to ‘drop’ the cookie sheet as soon as it comes out of the oven.  Sounds weird, I know, but it lets the still-soft cookies spread out a little and not be so…ball-ish (which can sometimes happen when you chill the dough before forming your cookies).

IMG_1494Oh, I also finally got open water certified. It’s something that I’ve been wanting to do for years, and I just decided to go for it. At times it was the most terrifying thing I’ve ever done (jumping into a fresh water spring when you aren’t prepared for the water temperature is probably not the smartest thing), but at 60 feet down on a reef and seeing giant green turtles and beautiful coral, it was an experience that I will never forget. I can’t wait to go again!

Blue Grotto DiveThat’s me on the right.  Except I was not ‘OK’.  I was cold.  Never diving a fresh water spring again.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

